Processed Foods and Ingredients That May Contain Wheat Rye and Barley

Contributors: Jill Kohn, MS, RDN, LDN
No Image

sergeyryzhov/iStock/Getty Images Plus/Getty Images

It's important to learn about ingredients in foods. Many packaged foods can contain gluten, which people with celiac disease must avoid, even if the ingredients don't include wheat, rye or barley. Ingredients such as modified food starch, malt or soy sauce also may contain gluten. The following are some common items that may contain gluten.

  • Beer
  • Bouillon cubes
  • Brown rice syrup
  • Candy
  • Cold cuts, hot dogs, salami, sausage
  • Communion wafers
  • French fries
  • Gravy
  • Imitation fish
  • Licorice
  • Malt (malt syrup, malt extract, malted milk and malt vinegar)
  • Matzo
  • Medicines (See below)
  • Modified food starch
  • Rice mixes
  • Sauces
  • Seasoned snack foods (tortilla chips, potato chips)
  • Seitan
  • Self-basting turkey
  • Soups
  • Soy sauce
  • Vegetables in sauce

Some of these foods can be found in gluten-free varieties. When in doubt, check with the food manufacturer.

This list is not complete. People with celiac disease should discuss gluten-free food choices with a registered dietitian nutritionist or physician who specializes in celiac disease. Use the Find a Nutrition Expert tool to locate a registered dietitian nutritionist in your area. People with celiac disease should always read food ingredient lists carefully to make sure that the food or beverage does not contain gluten.

Medications and Supplements

Some medications and supplements may use fillers made from wheat and rye. Check with your physician or pharmacist.
Learn more about gluten in medication » 

Find Nutrition Experts

Need serious help making a plan? The nutrition experts in our professional membership are ready to help you create the change to improve your life.

Find a Nutrition Expert