Celiac Disease

What a Registered Dietitian Nutritionist Can Do for You

When you need food and nutrition information based on fact or need to know how a healthy diet improves health and fights disease—rely on qualified professionals in the field.

More on This Topic

  • Gluten Free Diet: Building the Grocery List

    Gluten is a type of protein found in common grains such as wheat, barley and rye, as well as foods made from these grains. Consuming even the smallest amounts can damage the intestines of someone with celiac disease. Here are a few key points to remember when building your grocery list for someone on a gluten-free diet.

  • Does My Child Need a Gluten Free Diet

    Gluten is a protein found in certain grains like wheat, barley and rye and is harmless for most children - with the exception of celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity.

  • Celiacs Avoid these Grains

    This list of grains to avoid if you have celiac disease is not complete. People with celiac disease should discuss gluten-free food choices with a registered dietitian nutritionist or physician who specializes in celiac disease.

  • Processed Foods and Ingredients That May Contain Wheat Rye and Barley

    It's important to learn about ingredients in foods. Many packaged foods can contain gluten even if the ingredients don't include wheat, rye or barley. Ingredients such as modified food starch, malt or soy sauce also contain gluten. The following are some common processed foods that may contain gluten.

Find an Expert

Need serious help making a plan? The nutrition experts in our professional membership are ready to help you create the change to improve your life.

Find an Expert