Nutrition Q & A
What can I order in restaurants that will be gluten-free?
Many restaurants are now offering gluten-free items. Check the restaurant’s website or call the restaurant manager and inquire about what options are available.
When reviewing the menu, see what is offered that does not contain gluten. You may be surprised at the types of dishes available. Many dinner items will fit into your diet perfectly. The safest choices at a restaurant will be simple foods without added breading, sauces, marinades or gravies. Many seasonings contain gluten, so ask for no seasoning unless you are certain it’s gluten free. For example, try grilled chicken or fish with brown rice or quinoa and roasted vegetables.
Be sure to tell your server that your foods need to be gluten free and that no wheat products can touch your food.
Source: Celiac Disease Nutrition Guide, 2nd Edition
For more information on Celiac disease, go to http://www.eatright.org/Public/content.aspx?id=5542