The only treatment for celiac disease is to eat a gluten-free diet. There are plenty of foods that are naturally gluten-free, including fruits, vegetables, beef, poultry, fish, nuts, eggs and more. Several delicious and nutritious grains can be used in place of grains that contain gluten.
- Indian rice grass
- Wild rice
This list is not complete. People with celiac disease should discuss gluten-free food choices with a registered dietitian or physician who specializes in celiac disease. Use the Find a Registered Dietitian tool to locate a registered dietitian in your area. People with celiac disease should always read food ingredient lists carefully to make sure that the food does not contain gluten.
Reviewed December 2012