Home > Public > Diseases, Allergies and Health Conditions

Your Food and Nutrition Source

It's About Eating Right

In This Section

Latest Infographic

The Healthy, Hunger-Free Kids Act establishes strong nutrition policies for child nutrition programs.

Healthy Schools Raise Healthy Kids (Thumb)

View all infographics

Popular Diet Reviews

More Diet Reviews »
Calculate your BMI
Featured Product

Special Feature

More Info
Celiac Disease Nutrition Guide, 3rd Ed. (Single Copy)

Celiac Disease Nutrition Guide, 3rd Ed. (Single Copy)

This easy to read “survival guide” outlines essential information for people diagnosed with Celiac disease.

Processed Foods and Ingredients That May Contain Wheat, Rye and Barley

Sauces (md)

It's important to learn about ingredients in foods. Many packaged foods can contain gluten even if the ingredients don't include wheat, rye or barley. Ingredients such as modified food starch, malt or soy sauce also contain gluten. The following are some common processed foods that may contain gluten.

  • Beer
  • Bouillon cubes
  • Brown rice syrup
  • Candy
  • Cold cuts, hot dogs, salami, sausage
  • Communion wafers (See below)
  • French fries
  • Gravy
  • Imitation fish
  • Licorice
  • Malt (malt syrup, malt extract, malted milk and malt vinegar)
  • Matzo
  • Medicines (See below)
  • Modified food starch
  • Rice mixes
  • Sauces
  • Seasoned snack foods (tortilla chips, potato chips)
  • Seitan
  • Self-basting turkey
  • Soups
  • Soy sauce
  • Vegetables in sauce

Some of these foods can be found in gluten-free varieties. When in doubt, check with the food manufacturer.

This list is not complete. People with celiac disease should discuss gluten-free food choices with a registered dietitian or physician who specializes in celiac disease. Use the Find a Registered Dietitian tool to locate a registered dietitian in your area. People with celiac disease should always read food ingredient lists carefully to make sure that the food does not contain gluten.

Communion Wafers 

Communion wafers are generally made from wheat. Some manufacturers make gluten-free wafers for people with celiac disease. However, the official position of the Catholic Church is that gluten-free hosts may not be used to celebrate the Eucharist. Catholics with celiac disease have been encouraged to take Holy Communion in the form of wine only. The Congregation of Benedictine Sisters of Perpetual Adoration has developed a low-gluten Communion wafer that conforms to Canon law.

Medications and Supplements 

Some medications and supplements may use fillers made from wheat and rye. Check with your physician. Learn more about gluten in medication » 

Reviewed December 2012