JavaScript DHTML Drop Down Menu By Milonic Academy Names 2013-2014 Board of Directors from the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics

Welcome to the

Media Press Room

  • Normal Size Larger Size Largest SizeText Size
  • Print this Page
  • Email this Page
  • Bookmark this Page
Press Media Alerts

If you're a credentialed journalist for a media outlet, you can receive the latest issues and topics in food and nutrition delivered direct to your inbox.



Press Release

Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Names 2013-2014 Board of Directors


Media Contacts: Ryan O'Malley, Allison MacMunn
800/877-1600, ext. 4769, 4802

Editors: Please note local interest.

CHICAGO – Eighteen national leaders in nutrition, health and business will serve as the 2013-2014 Board of Directors of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, the world’s largest organization of food and nutrition professionals. The Board is responsible for strategic planning, policy development and fiscal management for the Academy. Members of the Academy’s Board of Directors will serve from June 1 until May 31, 2014. They are:

Dr. Glenna McCollum, MPH, RDN, Chandler, Ariz., President
McCollum is vice president of health and nutrition for PhycoBiosciences, Inc. and serves on Arizona’s statewide leadership board of directors for Project CENTRL (Center for Rural Leadership). She was a founding member of Gold Canyon Bank and the inaugural president of Chandler University.

Sonja L. Connor, MS, RDN, LD, Portland, Ore., President-elect
Connor is a research associate professor in the department of medicine at Oregon Health & Science University; director of the university’s nutrition elective for medical students and the developer of the nutrition course for physician assistant students.

Ethan A. Bergman, PhD, RDN, CD, FADA, Ellensburg, Wash., Past President
Bergman is the associate dean in the College of Education and Professional Studies and professor of food science and nutrition at Central Washington University.

Lucille Beseler, MS, RD, LDN, CDE, Coconut Creek, Fla., Director-at-Large
Beseler is president and owner of the Family Nutrition Center of South Florida.

Catherine W. Christie, PhD, RDN, LD/N, FADA, Jacksonville, Fla., Director-at-Large
Christie is an associate dean and professor at Brooks College of Health and the graduate program director in the department of nutrition and dietetics at the University of North Florida.

Joseph Derochowski, MBA, Arlington Heights, Ill., Public Member
Derochowski is vice president at the Connell Group, a leading Chicago-based consumer goods market research firm.

Becky Dorner, RDN, LD, Naples, Fla., Past Speaker, House of Delegates
Dorner is president of Becky Dorner & Associates Inc., specializing in education for health-care professionals who work with older adults; and Becky Dorner & Associates Consulting, which provides services to health-care facilities.

Linda T. Farr, RDN, LD, San Antonio, Texas, House of Delegates Director
Farr is the owner of Nutrition Associates of San Antonio, providing personalized medical nutrition therapy to teens and adults, wellness classes, nutrition facts labeling and public speaking.

Margaret P. Garner, MS, RD, LD, CIC, Tuscaloosa, Ala., Director-at-Large
Garner is an associate professor of family medicine and the assistant dean for health education and outreach at the University of Alabama College of Community Health Sciences.

Sandra L. Gill, PhD, Lisle, Ill., Public Member
Gill is dean of the College of Business and associate professor of business at Benedictine University. 

Diane W. Heller, MMSc, RDN, LD, Marietta, Ga., House of Delegates Director
Heller is a consultant at Nutrition Solutions, where she provides worksite nutrition programs at corporations and in physicians’ offices and nutrition education in schools.

Marcia A. Kyle, RDN, LD, CDE, Rockport, Maine, House of Delegates Director
Kyle is a certified diabetes educator at PenBay Medical Center, who works as a nutrition and diabetes educator and consults for Waldo County Head Start.

Nancy M. Lewis, PhD, RD, FADA, Stokesdale, N.C., Speaker, House of Delegates
Lewis is a professor emeritus of nutrition and health sciences at the University of Nebraska, where she taught courses on cultural aspects of food and nutrition, nutrition counseling and advanced clinical nutrition.

Donna S. Martin, EdS, RDN, LD, SNS, Augusta, Ga., Treasurer
Martin is director of the Burke County, Ga., school nutrition program.

Kathleen W. McClusky, MS, RD, FADA, Winter Springs, Fla., Academy Foundation Chair
McClusky is a patient services consultant with Morrison Management Specialists, where she previously was director of patient satisfaction and regional director of nutrition.

Mary K. Russell, MS, RD, LDN, Chicago, Ill., Past Treasurer
Russell is the senior manager for medical affairs at Baxter Healthcare.

Elise A. Smith, MA, RDN, LD, Brandon, Miss., Speaker-elect, House of Delegates
Smith is the staff development coordinator and consultant for Nutrition Systems Consulting, a provider of nutrition consulting and foodservice management services for approximately 100 health care facilities.

Patricia M. Babjak, Chicago, Ill., Academy Chief Executive Officer
Babjak has been the Academy’s chief executive officer since 2009. She joined the Academy in 1975.


Full biographies and photos of the members of the Academy’s Board of Directors are available by emailing



All registered dietitians are nutritionists – but not all nutritionists are registered dietitians. The Academy’s Board of Directors and Commission on Dietetic Registration have determined that those who hold the credential registered dietitian (RD) may optionally use “registered dietitian nutritionist” (RDN) instead. The two credentials have identical meanings. 

The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics (formerly the American Dietetic Association) is the world’s largest organization of food and nutrition professionals. The Academy is committed to improving the nation’s health and advancing the profession of dietetics through research, education and advocacy.